Top Polytechnics in Nigeria and Courses They Offer

Top polyechnics

As a student, the primary aim is to study in the best institution of learning. This has made us to make a survey and come up with a comprehensive list of top polytechnics in Nigeria. The list also includes the series of courses offered by these Polytechnics so that you can know if they offer you choice of course or not.

Check below for the list top Polytechnics in Nigeria and courses offered by these Polytechnics.

1. Auchi Polytechnic

Auchi Polytechnic is one of the top Polytechnics in Nigeria. It is located in Edo state. As a leading Polytechnic, it is one of the very first four Polytechnics in Nigeria founded in 1963. It was first known as technical college and later in 1973 it officially became a Polytechnic. Auchi students are always known for the outstanding performances. The official website is

The following are the departments in Auchi Polytechnic

  • Urban & Regional Planning
  • Surveying And Geo-Informatics
  • Statistics
  • Science Lab. Tech.
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Public Administration
  • Polymer Technology
  • Photography
  • Mineral Resources Eng. Tech.
  • Mechanical Eng
  • Mass Communication
  • Marketing
  • Hospitality
  • General Arts & Industrial Design
  • Food Technology
  • Fashion Design And Clothing Tech.
  • Estate Management
  • Electrical/Electronics Eng.
  • Computer Science
  • Civil Eng.
  • Chemical Eng.
  • Ceramics
  • Business Administration & Management
  • Building Technology
  • Banking & Finance
  • Architectural Technology
  • Agric& Bio￾Environmental Eng. Technology
  • Agric Technology
  • Agric Eng.
  • Accountancy

Also read: Full list of accredited Polytechnics in Nigeria
Cheapest School of Health Tech. in Nigeria
List of Universities in Osun State

2. Another top Polytechnic in Nigeria is Yaba College of Technology

The College is known to be one of the leading higher educational institution in Nigeria by its provision of first-rate academic, professional and entrepreneurial Education. Though Yabatech was established in 1947 to succeed Yaba higher College, it gained autonomous and its independent in 1969. It has 9 schools and runs both National Diploma programs and Higher National Diploma programs respectively.

Departments in Yabatech

  • Accountancy
  • Agricultural technology
  • Architecture
  • Art education
  • Banking and finance
  • Biological science
  • Biology education
  • Building technology
  • Business administration
  • Business education
  • Chemical engineering
  • Chemical science
  • Chemistry education
  • Civil engineering
  • Computer engineering
  • Computer science
  • Agricultural & bio-environmental engineering
  • Fine art
  • Graphic design
  • Department of industrial design
  • Department of printing technology
  • Educational foundation
  • Electrical engineering
  • Estate management
  • Food technology
  • Home economics
  • Hospitality management
  • Industrial maintenance engineering
  • Industrial tech
  • Integrated science
  • Languages
  • Leisure and tourism
  • Marin engineering
  • Mass communication
  • Mathematics  education
  • Mechatronics engineering technology
  • Metallurgy engineering
  • Mineral and petroleum engineering
  • Nutrition and dietetics
  • Physical science
  • Physics education
  • Polymer technology
  • Quantity surveying
  • Science education
  • Social sciences
  • Statistics department
  • Surveying and geoinfomatics
  • Technical education
  • Textile technology
  • Urban and regional planning
  • Welding and fabrication engineering

3. Federal Polytechnic Ilaro.

It was established on 25th July, 1979 and began academic works on 15th November of the same year. The Federal Polytechnic Ilaro is located in Ilaro, Oja odan Road, Ogun State. It has six (6) schools and – departments. It is another one of the top Polytechnics Nigeria.

List of department in Federal Polytechnic Ilaro

  • Agric & Bio-Environmental Engineering and
  • Agriculture Sciences.
  • Architectural Technology and
  • Arts & Design
  • Building technology
  • Business Administration
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Engineering.
  • Computer Sciences,
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Estate Management
  • Food technology,
  • Library & Information Sciences
  • Library and Information Science
  • Mass Communication.
  • Mathematics & Statistics,
  • Mechanical Engineering,
  • Music Technology
  • Nutrition and Dietetics,
  • Office Technology and Management,
  • Planning & Management
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Science Laboratory and Technology
  • Surveying & Geo-Informatics
  • Town & Regional Planning (HND option)

List of Top Polytechnics in Nigeria

4. The Polytechnic Ibadan

The Polytechnic Ibadan is a state owned Polytechnic located in Ibadan, Oyo State. It was established to provide an alternative quality education to University. Founded in 1970, it is popularly called poly Ibadan. It has five faculties which are faculty of Engineering, faculty of Science, faculty of Environmental Studies, faculty of Financial and Management Studies and faculty of Business and Communication Studies respectively. It runs both National Diploma (ND) and Higher National Diploma (HND).

Check below for the departments and faculties in Poly Ibadan

Faculty of Engineering

  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Mechatronics

Faculty of Science

  • Applied Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology and Microbiology
  • Computer Science
  • Geology
  • Physics with Electronics
  • Science Laboratory Technology
  • Statistics

Faculty of Environmental Studies

  • Accountancy
  • Architecture
  • Banking and Finance
  • Building Technology
  • Business Administration
  • Estate Management
  • Faculty of Business and Communication Science
  • Faculty of Financial Management Science
  • Graphics & Printing
  • Industrial Design
  • Insurance
  • Land Surveying and Geoinformatics
  • Local Government Studies
  • Marketing
  • Mass Communication
  • Office Technology Management
  • Painting and Sculpture
  • Public Administration
  • Purchasing and Supply
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Urban and Regional Planning

5. Federal Polytechnic Ede, one of the top Polytechnics in Nigeria.

The federal Polytechnic Ede is one of the leading Polytechnic in Nigeria. It is located in Ede, Osun State.  The institution was established in 1992 and five Schools namely school of applied sciences, school of business studies, school of environmental studies, school of Engineering Technology and school of part-time and development Studies.

Check below for the list of department in Federal Polytechnic Ede.

Department in Federal Poly Ede

  • Surveying & Geo-informatics Department
  • Statistics Department
  • Science Laboratory Technology Department
  • Quantity Surveying Department
  • Office Technology and Management Department
  • Nutrition and Dietetics Department
  • Marketing Department
  • Library and Information Science Department
  • Leisure and Tourism Department
  • Hospitality Management Department
  • Geological Technology Department
  • General Studies Department
  • Fashion Design & Textile Technology Department
  • Estate Management Department
  • Computer Science Department
  • Business Administration Department
  • Building Technology Department
  • Basic Studies Department
  • Banking and Finance Department
  • Architectural Technology Department
  • Accountancy Department

Apart from the previously mentioned Polytechnic, check here for the list of top Polytechnics in Nigeria according to NBTE ranking.

Spread the info


  1. Avatar pawzandpetz June 14, 2020
  2. Oyediran Stephen Oyediran Stephen June 15, 2020

Leave a Reply