Victor Cohn Scholarship, 2020

victor chon scholarship

The Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) makes available another edition of this scholarship hereby, inviting applications for the $3,000 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting in 2020

CASW, Council for the Advancement of Science Writing established the Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting in 2000. The establishment gives prize annually to honour a writer for body of work which has been published or broadcast within the last five (5) years. This, which, for reasons of uncommon clarity, accuracy, breadth of coverage, enterprise, originality, insight and narrative power, has made a profound and lasting contribution to public awareness and understanding of critical advances in medical science and their impact on human health and well-being.

Worth of Award
The honoree of this available scholarship 2020, receives an award of $3,000 and a certificate. The prize is presented at a joint awards ceremony which is held in conjunction with ScienceWriters. Awardee travel expenses to the award ceremony are covered.

Also read: List of accredited school of health technology

Winners of the scholarship since 2000

Apoorva Mandavilli, Spectrum- 2019
Laura Beil, freelance medical writer- 2018
Sharon Begley, STAT- 2017
Liz Szabo, USA Today and Kaiser Health News- 2016
Mark Johnson, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel- 2015
Elisabeth Rosenthal, The New York Times-2014
John Fauber, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and Joanne Silberner, radio journalist- 2013
Jon Cohen, Science- 2012
Ron Winslow, The Wall Street Journal- 2011
Marilynn Marchione, The Associated Press- 2010
Denise Grady, The New York Times- 2009
Joe Palca, National Public Radio- 2008
Geeta Anand, staff writer, The Wall Street Journal- 2007
Jerome Groopman, staff writer, The New Yorker- 2006
Rick Weiss, reporter, The Washington Post- 2005
Michelle Trudeau, reporter, National Public Radio- 2004
Shannon Brownlee, freelance reporter- 2003
Daniel Q. Haney, medical editor, The Associated Press- 2002
Jon Palfreman, freelance documentary filmmaker- 2001
Laurie Garrett, reporter, Newsday, and Lawrence K. Altman, reporter, The New York Times- 2000


Am I eligible to apply? Yes, you are if you meet the following requirement.

The following persons are eligible to apply before the deadline;
Editors, colleagues, scientists, and others familiar with the candidate’s body of work may proffer nominations. Individuals may nominate themselves, but are encouraged to submit at least one letter of support from a knowledgeable colleague. Nominators of candidates for the 2020 prize may submit up to five examples of the candidate’s journalistic endeavours, all published or aired since January 2015. Books are not eligible.

The scholarship is available till June 30, 2020. For more info click here

How to Apply
Nominators and candidates may submit materials here
during the submission window beginning January 1. Letters of support may be uploaded either as part of the nomination package or via a separate
submission form provided for recommenders

Found this helpful to someone else? Do well to share it on Twitter, Facebook or Whatsapp, please. You can easily make use of the buttons below.

Spread the info

Leave a Reply